Stupid, but something || 2003-12-17 at 11:40 a.m.

I thought this was pretty significant -

Shortly after my grandmother died in '98, my grandfather started dating a woman named Shirley. It was very hard for us because, for one, we were still mourning my grandmother a lot, and, for another, we had reason to believe that my grandfather had been dating her even before my grandmother died. There's more to it, but that's the jist of it. We're much better with interacting with Shirley now since we've had time to get to know her.

Anyway, last night my family went to JJ North's, and Shirley and my grandpa were there. For those who don't know, JJ North's is a buffet place that my family goes to sometimes. At one point I got a piece of chicken that was so not done. It wasn't even pink, it was red. I didn't want to have to say something myself, but I knew my grandpa would. At that moment I felt sort of proud of having him as my grandfather. It was like he was a knight or something.

He said something, and one of the managers took the plate away and had the chicken dish replaced. When I went back to get another plate, however, I noticed the macaroni and cheese was gone. That being one of my favorite dishes, I was a bit bummed considering they'd taken my portion away with my chicken. I related this fact to my family as I sat down..

And Shirley promptly let the manager know, and she, in turn, had some one replace it.

holla ( 2 hollas so far )

<< first < before || archive || after > latest >>

new old me links rings reviews notes email layout hostess

THE GIRL
I'm um... a college student....

LOVES
gillian anderson

HATES
uhhh... chickens?

THE GIRL'S BITCH
dave

THE GIRL'S FIC
sfdr