Under New Management || 2003-10-09 at 1:56 p.m.

Title: Under New Management

About: Inspired by American McGee's Alice. Rough draft free flow.

It was that smile she had, the one of pure darkness and death, the one that made you feel soulless. It was that smile that let me know she was evil.

She was hardly allowed to go undrugged. She was fourteen, and already she'd killed countless people. Some blamed it on her parents who were abusive drug addicts slash alcoholics. They would beat her, and some said her father would touch her in ways a father should never touch his child. One day when she was twelve she killed them both. She ran to a bus stop where she killed two other men simply for looking at her. Where she got the strength, no one knew, but some of the insane were known for almost super human strength.

And she was as insane as they came.

When she first arrived at the asylum, she had a roommate.

She promptly killed her with her sheets.

She had the nasty little habit of licking the blood off of her hands, so when the nurses found her over the body of her dead roommate, she had been digging at the skin of the corpse, displeased with the lack of fluids.

Her greatest weapon was her disposition. Many took her to be a sweet little girl until it was too late. They'd trust that sweet smile and those dimples, thinking she was harmless.

Maybe that's what happened that night.

Maybe that's why she wasn't drugged up. Maybe the new night nurse (who was a lazy cow) thought drugging her was too much work. Some children kicked, after all. No doubt the girl was able to escape her straight jacket because of the half assed job that was done putting it on her.

In any case she was after me. I was to be the second doctor she'd kill.

I didn't like the idea of it.

I crouched down with my back against the wall of the rec room, looking for any signs that she was coming. It was funny when I thought about it. A thirty-five-year-old man running from a fourteen-year-old girl. But I was never very big, and I was never very brave.

And I'd certainly never come up against a serial murderer before.

I heard footsteps walking away at the other end of the coridoor leading from the rec room. I took one last look at Polly's favorite stuff owl before darting out of there and making my way to the front door.

"Hello, doctor."

I whirled around to find her standing in front of me, right next to the bloody corpse of the lazy night nurse. I'd never seen anyone with a slit throat before, so I vomitted right then in the middle of it all.

She seemed to take pleasure in the act, and I glared at her for a second. The little bitch had tricked me. She was only a young teenager, but she had the genius of a homicidal maniac. The most frightening part about them is the fact that they are so goddamned brilliant. It makes you wonder how many different ways they know how to kill a person. I wondered how she'd kill me.

And while I was thinking about it, those eyes kept staring at me...

Just... staring....

Dark...

Soulless.

holla ( 0 hollas so far )

<< first < before || archive || after > latest >>

new old me links rings reviews notes email layout hostess

THE GIRL
I'm um... a college student....

LOVES
gillian anderson

HATES
uhhh... chickens?

THE GIRL'S BITCH
dave

THE GIRL'S FIC
sfdr