Beauty is everywhere || 2003-10-15 at 12:32 p.m.

People in their fifties are not old. If anything, they're more alive than any of us.

There is beauty everywhere. An older women in about her sixties stepped off of the bus today, and as I watched her make her way down the dirt path next to the freeway, I thought, "She is beautiful."

Beauty is everywhere, if we take the time to find it. People mope about trees growing in places like a dump, and while that is sad, think about it. It's thriving - absolutely thriving - in such a hideous enviroment. It is sad and beautiful.

Sad things have a beauty all their own. I know this guy that goes door to door offering to cut people's lawns for like $15 or something. People get sad and take pity on him, and so does my family. But you gotta look, man. Just look. He could just give up, say no one will give him a job, that society is out to get him, but instead he is out there, working his ass off to make a few bucks.

His wife is pregnant. They are being evicted. The world is against him, but he keeps going. He keeps trying to make it.

That, my friends, is beautiful.

holla ( 1 hollas so far )

<< first < before || archive || after > latest >>

new old me links rings reviews notes email layout hostess

THE GIRL
I'm um... a college student....

LOVES
gillian anderson

HATES
uhhh... chickens?

THE GIRL'S BITCH
dave

THE GIRL'S FIC
sfdr